Sweet Potato Trio: Part I

I had the brilliant idea over the weekend to purchase some sweet potatoes. I didn’t always like sweet potatoes but once I developed a liking an adoration for them, the desire to create new recipes with sweet potatoes as the highlight definitely increased.

Well, on Friday I purchased four sweet potatoes with the initial desire to make basic sweet potato fries. As the weekend waned, I tried to think of what else I could possibly do that could be fun and tasty. With the temperatures decreasing as the autumn days go on, the answer is clear: soup!

I’d never made a blended soup before, always using the fact I don’t have a fancy-schmancy high-power restaurant-grade blender as an excuse never to try. I have a pretty decent food processor with which I’ve made nut butters and other blending-intensive foods… could it handle making soup?

There’s only one way to find out!

Thick & Creamy Curried Sweet Potato Stew
Makes at least 6 cups of stew.

  • 4 medium sweet potatoes (peeled, cut, and baked for 40 minutes or until done)
  • 4 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp yellow curry powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened plain soymilk, or other non-dairy milk of choice

Put all ingredients in a food processor or blender. Blend until completely creamy. You may need to scrape down sides as you go along. Serve hot.

Easy? Check. Great flavor? Yes, sir. Hearty yet healthy? Yes and yes.

But a success it was not!

I noticed almost immediately that its consistency was similar to that of baby food; but, I still brought a serving with me for lunch the next day. I hoped that nobody would see or comment on what I was eating at my desk, but of course the FIRST coworker to pass by my desk asked, “…baby food?”

*groan!*

And that’s why this is “Part I” in a three-part series. The next two posts will be about how I turned this semi-failure into two successes! Just remember: If at first you don’t succeed……!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Trio: Part I

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Trio: Part II | Flirting With Food

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato Trio: Part II | Flirting With Food

Leave a Reply

