Florida Mittens

I’m in Florida visiting my parents. The weather is gorgeous pretty much every day… in fact, the only time it’s not pristine, to us, is when there is one cloud in the sky. (Take that, Cincinnati!)

Every time I go on a vacation, my knitting goes into a frenzy. When I’m home, I barely knit… maybe a few rows on a scarf or hat I’ve been neglecting… maybe

But, on vacation, it’s a whole other story. I try new patterns, I finish projects that I’ve been putting on the backburner, or, in this case, I invent my own patterns!

image

FLORIDA MITTENS
These mittens are very simple but striking when you look at them… all because of a simple moss stitch!

Materials
1 skein Caron Simply Soft (I used Plum Perfect)
Four US size 8 (5mm) double-pointed needles (or circular, if that’s your thing)
About 6″-8″ of a different colored yarn

Gauge
About 4.5 stitches per inch / 6 rows per inch

Moss Stitch
Follow knit-purl as if doing a 1×1 rib, but once you complete a row or round, knit the purl stitches and purl the knit stitches.

Pattern
Note: I have large hands, so adjust accordingly to fit your own hand size. It is important that you have an odd number of stitches in a multiple of 3.

Cast on 33 stitches. Put 11 stitches each on 3 DPNs and join, being careful not to twist.

Rows 1-5: *K2, P1* repeating.
For the next 1.5″: moss stitch.
After the first 1.5″: knit 5 stitches onto different-colored yarn to form an afterthought thumb. This site has a really great tutorial with helpful photos!
For the next 4″: moss stitch.
Continue:

  • *K1, P1, K3tog, K1, P1, K1, P1, K1, P1* repeating until the end of the round. (9 stitches per needle)
  • Moss stitch.
  • *K1, P1, K3tog, K1, P1, K1* repeating until the end of the round. (6 stitches per needle)
  • Moss stitch.
  • *K3tog, P1* repeating until the end of the round. (4 stitches total)
  • K4tog, pull yarn through to inside of glove, weaving in end.

Perform afterthought thumb as shown in the link above, making sure to have picked up a total of 11 stitches. Follow this pattern to form thumb using DPNs:

  • Use moss stitch in the round for 1.5″.
  • *K2tog P2* repeating until 3 stitches remain.
  • K3tog, pull yarn through to inside of thumb, weaving in the end.

Weave in all ends. Repeat entire pattern for second glove.

Note: I recommend wearing these in cool weather, not in Florida! 🙂

Leave a Reply

