New Year’s Solutions

A resolution is, by definition…

A firm decision to do or not to do something.

I’ve never been the kind of person to make a list of resolutions for the new year, mainly because I see so many people develop ideas of grandeur to only fall short. Sure, you can make a firm decision to do something, but can you make the same firm choice to finish that something? I have a hunch most of us get a bit soft once January passes.

On the other hand, a solution is…

  1. A means of solving a problem or dealing with a difficult situation.
  2. The correct answer to a puzzle.

So, I’m going to solve things this year, which is honestly something I’ve never been very good at. (For instance, this is my… oh… tenth blog? Maybe twelfth?!) But, 2012 is going to be a pretty epic year for me, and I know it. Not only will my boyfriend be graduating with his Master’s, but as a result we’ll most likely be moving, which means I may need to job-hunt in an economy a lot worse than when I graduated college. With the move comes the possibility of the boy and I house-hunting for the first time in either of our lives! I’ll also be starting grad school to get my MBA (I hope!), therefore taking the GMAT, for which I’ve already started studying. So that I (and the boy) can get the most out of all of these changes, I need to sort out the problems that need solving in my life. Piling up all of my issues on top of life-changing inevitabilities isn’t the way to go!

  1. Problem: Money, money, money.
    Solutions:
    [a] Make a list of stuff to sell by February 2012.
    [b] Sell good, usable stuff on Craigslist and/or Ebay by June 2012. What doesn’t sell gets donated or thrown away, no exceptions! Save the cash in our super-secret-hidden-rainy-day jar and reward ourselves with a vacation by December 2012.
    [c] Sign up for a mint.com account again. Get this set up and going in mid-January 2012.
    [d] Don’t start new projects; instead, finish the projects that exist by the end of the year. Don’t buy new yearn for knitting projects – use the tons of the stuff I already have! Finish the quilt that’s been gathering dust by April 2012 and add the sewing machine to the to-sell list already in the works.
  2. Problem: Our apartment is pretty consistently messy.
    Solution:
    [a] Define chores between the boyfriend and I. (So far all we have is that I cook and he does dishes, haha!) Agree on the chores by February 2012.
    [b] Clean up our patio of all the unused junk out there. Make it a usable space by April 2012. See 1b for what we’ll do with the stuff!
  3. Problem: The boy and I have food/nutrition issues: I obsess over health crazes while he prefers a college-kid diet.
    Solutions:
    [a] I’ll continue taking the reigns in our cooking, since I enjoy it already! But, I want to introduce the boy to one new food every month. Ideally, I’d like him to willingly enjoy a fruit, a new veggie, and/or some kind of seafood by the end of the year!
    [b] I will stop reading diet/wellness books in early January 2012.
    [c] Pizza delivery no more than once per month.
    [d] Shop at the supermarket only once per month and do as much produce, dairy, and meat shopping at the local market starting January 2012
  4. Problem: I want my MBA.
    Solutions:
    [a] Finish my GMAT training course in its entirety by March 2012.
    [b] Don’t reschedule my GMAT exam again! Take it on March 9th, 2012 as scheduled!
    [c] Start filling out MBA applications in May 2012.

I think this is a good starting point for 2012. I noticed most of this is to be done by the first half of the year, which is understandable since we’ll probably be moving by July. I’m sure a whole slew of new goals, dreams, and plans will begin around then!

What are your New Years solutions?

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Solutions

  1. Pingback: New Thing #3: A New Market Experience « [blank] this

  2. Pingback: Half-Homemade « [blank] this

Leave a Reply

