Horseradish for Dinner

Maybe my Jewish upbringing is to blame, but I love horseradish.

I specifically remember coating my matzoh and gefilte fish with beet-red-dyed horseradish as a kid. Once I had proven to my spice-loving parents that I could handle the heat, we started solely purchasing the real, white, grated horseradish rather than the less-spicy red variety made with beet juice added to it.

Since then I’ve always had horseradish in my fridge. Never, ever the horseradish sauce (which uses vinegar, egg, spices, preservatives, etc. and looks just like the good stuff): just plain ol’ prepared horseradish. This means nothing but horseradish, salt, and vinegar. That’s all you need for some good sinus-clearing heat.

Well, last night was a night where I told the boyfriend, “We’re each on our own for dinner.” Once or twice a week, we just wing it at dinner time: he has whatever he wants (usually a can of chili, Chef Boyardee, ramen, or a peanut butter sandwich) and I’ll have whatever I want (which is something a little bit more grown-up than the boy’s tastes!). Perfect for a busy (or lazy!) weeknight in.

We haven’t done real grocery shopping in about a month, so with the exception of my recent produce-only trip to the store earlier this week, we’re down to the bare minimum: half of a ciabatta baguette, 9 eggs, half a bag of baby carrots, 3 different wedges of good cheese, milk, and whatever not-easily-perishable things I have lying around all the time.

I knew I wanted some protein, and I love me some eggs, so that was an easy choice. I love the ciabatta baguette, so I knew I had to include that. Adding some of the remaining horseradish cheddar to the mix, and sandwich of sorts was in the works.

Unfortunately, the remaining leaves of kale I’d purchased Monday had gotten extremely wilted so I had to toss them. The only fresh veggie left was the baby carrots… but how do I put baby carrots on a sandwich?

Answer: Make two sandwiches!

I split a portion of the baguette length-wise and toasted it. On the left you have an over-hard (I meant for it to be over-easy… whoops!) egg on top of some sliced horseradish cheddar, topped with dried parsley and fresh-cracked black pepper. On the right you have a bright surprise: my version of a carrot slaw, on top of the other half of the baguette that had been schmeared with a thin layer of mayonnaise.

I know this isn’t a true “slaw” but it’s what I came up with, and I really, really enjoyed it.

Horseradish Carrot Slaw
Makes approximately 1 cup of slaw.

  • Roughly 1.5 cups of baby carrots (or regular carrots, cut into chunks)
  • 3 tbsp organic distilled white vinegar (apple cider vinegar would work also)
  • 2 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • dash of fresh-cracked black pepper
  • dash of salt
  • 1 tbsp organic prepared horseradish (adjust this to your own taste; I personally like it with a kick!)

Put carrots in a small food processor and process until in very small pieces (about the size of grains of rice). Add remaining ingredients and process again until combined. Add more vinegar if you think it’s too dry, or add more horseradish if you want more of a kick.

Serve on top of a toasted baguette, as a side dish to a grilled protein-rich meal, or in a sandwich or wrap!

Horseradish cheese with an egg. Horseradish carrot slaw with mayo. It was a pretty damn good dinner!

2 thoughts on “Horseradish for Dinner

  1. Pingback: Half-Homemade « [blank] this

  2. Pingback: Half-Homemade « [blank] this

Leave a Reply

