Half-Homemade

Some days when I come home, I’m completely in the mood to cook something new and exciting. The problem is, however, that my personality is one that loves to plan and think of new things to try or do, but following through on these brilliant ideas is tough…

…and usually doesn’t happen. (I’ve mentioned this before.)

My barely-used sewing machine (and the quilt I started 4 months ago that is still incomplete). The juicer I bought because I swore I’d juice every day, which I sold (unopened!) about a month later. When I went to bartending school two summers ago and have only bartended twice since then.

A life of half-assing things, some may say… but, as I try to make clear on this blog, it’s all about trying things! Life would be so boring if I didn’t!

So, Monday night dinner. I wanted to do something new, make something tasty and unique. I’d had a failure Saturday morning trying to make a breakfast bread pudding — let’s just say that the milk/egg liquid started to boil over and spill out of my ramekin, resulting in my afternoon spent cleaning the oven. Ugh.

Deterred, I was not. The remnants of a tasty loaf of sun-dried tomato/basil bread from a local bakery were very stale. I had a couple of fresh, cage- and hormone-free, local eggs. I had a bit of the previously-used horseradish cheddar in the fridge, begging to be used.

I basically winged it, and was really happy with the end result: a savory, cheesy, tasty bread pudding!

Then I lost my mojo, and refused to take more than 5 minutes to make the rest of my meal that would accompany my awesome creation. No surprise there! (This is exactly why I keep “emergency” cans of soup in my pantry, frozen veggie burgers in my freezer, and so many cans of beans I swear I’ll never go hungry even on the laziest of days!)

Simply Savory Bread Pudding Mini-Loaf
Serves three.

  • Roughly 1.5 cups of stale bread, cut into 1×1 inch cubes
  • 1 egg (organic, free-range, hormone-free is best!)
  • 1/2 cup whole milk (organic, hormone-free again!)
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • dash of salt
  • dash of freshly-ground pepper
  • dried parsley and garlic powder to taste

Heat oven to 375 degrees F and lightly grease a small loaf pan (mine was about 8x4x4, I think) with butter. Put bread pieces in the loaf pan.

In a small bowl, whisk the egg, milk, and spices until combined. Add the cheese and stir. Pour mixture on top of the bread and let sit for about 5 minutes or until bread has absorbed the liquid. Press down lightly.

Bake for 20 minutes or until top of loaf is golden. Turn off heat in the oven and let the loaf sit inside for another 5 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for another 5 minutes to make slicing easier.

Serve alongside soup, salad, and/or a protein to make a complete meal!

My canned vegetarian vegetable soup and a small salad went nicely with this bread pudding! Half-homemade is just fine for me!

Leave a Reply

