Too Much, Too Soon

This may be The Queen of Excuses talking, but I think I’ve done too much too soon with my running. In the back of my mind when I signed up for the Intermediate 10K Training Program, I thought it was a bit ambitious. Given that until I started “training” under that regimen, my longest run in the past 6 months was 2 miles; next thing I know, I have to run 4 miles, then 5 miles, then 4 miles again…!

Well, given that my Wednesday 5-miler was a fail (due to a number of reasons), having only run shy of 4 miles, I figured on Thursday I could just extend the scheduled 4-miler by one mile. Easy peasy!

Er… not…

Within the first half mile, my right hamstring was feeling strained. Then my right hip. Next thing I know, at 2.13 miles, I started to walk. I pretty much walked 70% of the way back home, finishing up at a mere 3.7-ish miles. Even after stretching and getting a good night’s rest, my hammy is still quite sensitive. Boo!

So, I’m switching to the Beginner 10K Training Program starting on 6 August. 1.5 miles, 1.5 miles, 2 miles in week one. Much more manageable! The longest run in the program is 10K (6.2 miles) which is on the last week (week 8).

Fail? I think not!

One thought on “Too Much, Too Soon

  1. Pingback: A Huge “Duh” Moment | [blank] this

Leave a Reply

