New Food: Baba… Whatchamacallit

There are some words that cause a struggle for me to spell. Anything that ends in “ise”, anything ending in “able”/”ible”, that whole “i before e” thing… spell-check is my friend with those and many others. And this is in my own native language. Sad, right?

When it comes to words in languages I’m unfamiliar with, such as Greek, you’d better believe I will struggle. In these cases, even spell-check can’t save me. So, you can thank Google for showing me how to spell the following food so that I can share this easy-peasy recipe with you all!

BABA GANOUSH
Inspired by The Healthy Everythingtarian.
Makes two servings.
Prep: 10 mins
Cooking: 30-40 mins

  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • dash of salt
  • dash of cumin
  • 1 tbsp dried herbs of choice (or 1/4 cup fresh)
  • 2 tbsp tahini (optional; I didn’t have any so I didn’t use any!)
  • 1/4 of a lemon’s worth of lemon juice

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. Stab your eggplant all over with a fork and put on a cookie sheet. Put in the hot oven and bake for 15 minutes, flip and rotate the eggplant, and bake for another 15 minutes or until it is extremely soft to the touch. Remove and let cool until it can be handled.

Scoop out as much of the meat as possible and discard the skin. Put all ingredients in a food processor or blender with the eggplant and blend until completely smooth. Put in a bowl, cover, and refrigerate until cold.

I never knew what baba ganoush was until I saw this recipe a while back, and lo and behold – the following week’s CSA yielded a bunch of eggplants. I’d never even eaten eggplant before giving this recipe a try (unless you count spitting out eggplant parmesan when I was a kid and tried it for the first – and only – time). It’s totally, 100% a win for me. It may not be the most gorgeous food in the world, but it tastes good and it’s nutritious; just close your eyes when you eat it, if you must.

Fear not the eggplant, folks. Give this a try!

One thought on “New Food: Baba… Whatchamacallit

Leave a Reply

